Ten judges and an Advocate-General were appointed to the Court of Justice of the European Union on 30 January, 2019, while eight judges were appointed to the General Court.

Mr Christopher Vajda from the UK was reappointed as judge to the Court of Justice.  However, in the event that the UK leaves the EU, there will no longer be a representative judge from the UK siting in the CJEU as the UK will become a non-EU member and be treated as a third country.

Mr Pritt Pikamae was newly appointed as Advocate General.

Mr Allan Rosas from Finland has submitted his resignation as judge from the Court of Justice and will leave office effective 7 October, 2019; as a result, Mr Niilo Jaaskinen of Finland will be appointed in his position for the remainder of his (Mr Rosas’ ) term in office which will expire on 6 October, 2021.

New appointments at the General Court

Six judges were reappointed for a six years period starting from 1 September, 2019 to the General Count, they are as follows:-

  1. Ms Mariyana Kancheva (Bulgaria)
  2. Mr Alexander Kornezov (Bulgaria)
  3. Mr Stéphane Gervasoni (France)
  4. Ms Inga Reine (Latvia)
  5. Mr Ulf Öberg (Sweden)
  6. Mr Fredrik Schalin (Sweden)

Mr Laurent Truchot (France) was appointed as judge from 1 September, 2019 to 31 August, 2025.

Ms Mirela Stancu (Romania) was also appointed as judges from 1 September 2019 until 31 August, 2022.

Ms Stancu’s mandate is shorter than that of the other judges, as she is amongst the judges who have been appointed for three years in order to bring them in line with the end of term of the other judge of the same Member State. Judges may be reappointed accordingly.


For further information, please click:  https://www.consilium.europa.eu/en/press/press-releases/2019/02/01/court-of-justice-of-the-european-union-eleven-members-appointed/