Today, President-elect Ursula von der Leyden appointed a new European Commission. The list was adopted by the Council.

The new Commission is:

  • Austria: Johannes Hahn, Commissioner for Budget and Administration
  • Belgium: Didier Reynders, Commissioner for Justice
  • Bulgaria: Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation and Youth
  • Croatia: Dubravka Šuica, Vice-President for Democracy and Demography
  • Cyprus: Stella Kyriakides, Commissioner for Health
  • Czech Republic: Věra Jourová, Vice-President for Values and Transparency
  • Denmark: Margrethe Vestager, Executive Vice-President for a Europe fit for the Digital Age
  • Estonia: Kadri Simon, Commissioner for Energy
  • Finland: Jutta Urplainen, Commissioner for International Partnerships
  • France: Sylvie Goulard, Commissioner for Internal Market
  • Greece: Margaritis Schinas, Vice-President for Protecting our European Way of Life
  • Hungary: László Trócsányi, Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement
  • Ireland: Phil Hogan, Commissioner for Trade
  • Italy: Paolo Gentiloni, Commissioner for Economy
  • Latvia: Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People
  • Lithuania: Virginijus Sinkievičius, Commissioner for Environment and Oceans
  • Luxembourg: Nicolas Schmit, Commissioner for Jobs
  • Malta: Helena Dalli, Commissioner for Equality
  • Netherlands: Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice-President for a European Green Deal
  • Poland: Janusz Wojciechowski, Commissioner for Agriculture
  • Portugal: Elisa Ferreira, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms
  • Romania: Rovana Plumb, Commissioner for Transport
  • Slovakia: Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President for Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight
  • Slovenia: Janez Lenarčič, Commissioner for Crisis Management
  • Sweden: Ylva Johansson, Commissioner for Home Affairs

Also, earlier this year on 5 August, Josep Borrell Fontelles (Spain) was appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy. The appointment was made by the European Council with agreement of the President-elect.

The new College of Commissioners, including High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, must now be approved by the European Parliament (which must give its consent). 

A more detailed distribution of roles and responsibilities within the new Commission can be found here, as well as its new working methods. You can also read the Commission’s political guidelines here.