On 10 July 2019 governmental representatives of the Member States appointed three judges to the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). The CJEU consists of two courts, the Court of Justice and the General Court.

Mr Nils Wahl (Sweden) was appointed as judge to the Court of Justice and will replace Mr Carl Gustav Fernlund following his resignation as of 7 October 2019. Mr Nils Wahl will hold this position from 7 October 2019 to 6 October 2024.

Ms Ornella Porchia (Italy) alongside Mr Roberto Mastroianni (Italy) were appointed as judges to the General Court. Both will hold this position from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2025. Such appointments were made as part of the partial renewal of the composition of the General Court where 23 judges’ term of office is due to expire on 31 August 2019.

Judges and advocates-generals are appointed by the governments of the Member States after the panel responsible for opining on the prospective candidates’ suitability have been consulted. The candidates are chosen from individuals whose independence is beyond doubt. In order to be appointed to the Court of Justice, candidates must possess the highest judicial offices or be jurisconsults of recognised competence in their respective countries. For appointment to the General Court, candidates must possess the abilities required for appointment to high judicial office.

Read More